Judiciary (JUD)

Committee Room: Room 438, State House
Phone: (207) 287-1327
Audio: www.maine.gov/legis/audio/judiciary_cmte.html
Mailing Address: Committee on Judiciary, c/o Legislative Information, 100 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
Committee Jurisdiction
Judicial system organization and budget; criminal procedure; civil procedure; civil actions, including torts and medical malpractice; Maine Tort Claims Act; liability; immunity; child protection; family law; domestic relations; child support; adoption; legal services; attorneys; Attorney General; District Attorneys; abortion and reproductive rights; civil rights; medical rights; human rights; Maine Human Rights Commission; protection from harassment; protection from abuse; guardianship and conservatorship; probate law; property law; property rights; unclaimed property; business and nonprofit organizations; Uniform Commercial Code; laws relating to Maine’s Indian Tribes, including the Maine Indian Land Claims Settlement Act; Maine Indian Tribal-State Commission; freedom of access, confidentiality and privacy laws; and errors and inconsistencies.
Committee Members

Senate: David C. Burns, Chair (R-Washington)
Amy F. Volk (R-Cumberland)
Christopher K. Johnson (D-Lincoln)
House: Barry J. Hobbins, Chair (D-Saco)
Kimberly J. Monaghan (D-Cape Elizabeth)
Matthew W. Moonen (D-Portland)
Joyce McCreight (D-Harpswell)
Charlotte Warren (D-Hallowell)
Stacey K. Guerin (R-Glenburn)†
Roger L. Sherman (R-Hodgdon)
Phyllis A. Ginzler (R-Bridgton)
Lloyd C. Herrick (R-Paris)
Jeffrey Evangelos (U-Friendship)
Wayne T. Mitchell (Penobscot Nation)

Comments are closed