Health and Human Services (HHS)

Committee Room: Room 209, Cross State Office Building
Phone: (207) 287-1317
Mailing Address: Committee on Health and Human Services,  c/o Legislative Information, 100 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
Committee Jurisdiction
Department of Health and Human Services; Parts of the Dirigo Health Act, including the State Health Plan, the Maine Quality Forum and Advisory Council on Health Systems Development; Maine Health Data Organization; health and medical data; MaineCare, Medicaid, and Medicare Part D; children’s welfare and mental health services; childcare; public health and disease control; tobacco addiction prevention and control; sale of tobacco; prescription drugs; health care facilities and health care workforce; social and rehabilitation services; state health system planning; substance abuse; mental health; developmental and other disabilities; poverty, homelessness and public assistance; home and community-based long-term care; aging, elderly and disability issues; medical use of marijuana; maternal and infant health; and nursing facilities and residential care.
Committee Members
Senator Margaret M. Craven (D-Androscoggin), Chair
Senator Colleen M. Lachowicz (D-Kennebec)
Senator James M. Hamper (R-Oxford)
Representative Richard R. Farnsworth (D-Portland), Chair
Representative Matthew J. Peterson (D-Rumford)
Representative Peter C. Stuckey (D-Portland)
Representative Katherine W. Cassidy (D-Lubec)
Representative Ann E. Dorney (D-Norridgewock)
Representative Drew M. Gattine (D-Westbrook)
Representative Deborah J. Sanderson (R-Chelsea)
Representative Richard S. Malaby (R-Hancock)
Representative Heather W. Sirocki (R-Scarborough)
Representative Carol A. McElwee (R-Caribou)
Representative Henry John Bear (Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians)