About the 127th Maine State Senate

All members of the 127th Maine Senate have been elected to serve a two year term. Of the 35 members, there are 20 Republicans and 15 Democrats. Eight are women (3 Republicans and 5 Democrats) and 27 are men (17 Republicans and 10 Democrats). There are 15 new members; 22 have served in the House of Representatives, 23 are former Senate members, and 5 have no previous legislative experience. Twenty members are incumbents. The combined legislative experience of the 127th Senate totals 218 years.Senator Peter Edgecomb of Aroostook county has the distinction of being the senior member of the Senate, while Senator Eric Brakey of Androscoggin county is the junior member this session. Senator Bill Diamond of Cumberland county has the longest overall Senate service, his 1st term beginning in the 111th (1982); he now begins his 7th term in the Senate. He is also the Senator with the longest overall legislative service, beginning his 10th term with the Legislature.Only two members, Senator Justin Alfond of Cumberland county and Senator Stan Gerzofsky of Cumberland county will be unable to run for the Maine Senate in 2016 due to term limits.
127th Swearing-In Day Photos 
PHOTOS: “State House in Autumn” – Chris Baker of Fryeburg