What is Maine's Law on Smoking Prohibition
Laws concerning smoking in public places can be found in 22 MRS §§1541-1550. Specific statutes also apply to smoking in the workplace (22 MRS §1580-A), in elementary and secondary schools (22 MRS §1578-B), and in state parks and state historic sites (22 MRS §1580-E). PL 2015, c. 318 expanded the definition of smoking to include the use of “electronic smoking devices” (see 22 MRS §1541(1-A) and 22 MRS §1541(6)). There are also Department of Health and Human Services regulations related to smoking in public places and the workplace. Until the enactment of PL 2003, c. 493 (effective Jan. 1, 2004), “taverns and lounges” were exempt from the prohibition against smoking in public places. Private clubs, such as the Elks and American Legion, are open only to members and their invited guests and are not considered "public places." Smoking is allowed if the club so chooses. 29-A MRS §2120 prohibits smoking in vehicles when a minor under 16 years of age is present. The penalty for violating this provision is $50.
As of July 1, 2018, the minimum legal age to purchase tobacco products in Maine is 21 (see 22 MRS §1555-B).
11/1/2018 A-Z List